Creating Smiles

24 Apr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sometimes I drive a hundred miles through snow and ice to jump into forty-five degree water with my surfboard. A wave meets me and we share some time for ten seconds. I smile.

Sometimes I drive a hundred miles, sleep in a cold van, and stand in thirty-eight degree water for hours. I cast and I cast, and sometimes I catch. The actual hooking and catching of a fish lasts a couple minutes. I smile.

Sometimes I pack the family car for days and drive two hundred miles with crying kids. They go to sleep wailing and wake up screaming at 5:00. I light a fire in the fireplace to distract the unhappy-ones, change their crappy diapers, and go-go-go for an adventure because I’m  too tired to argue with my wife about who gets to go back to sleep. We stop at a sand mound on the side of the road and my big boy scrambles up. He bags the peak and raises his arms with a snow covered volcano as his backdrop. I smile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

* * *

Shorebreak 10:31

Ryan Chin is the author of Without Rain There Can Be No Rainbows, a multimedia memoir about his teaching experience in New Zealand. He likes to call it a pet and teacher memoir sandwiched into an overseas adventure. The book is available at Amazon, B&N, iTunes, and in Portland at Powell’s Books. He considers sitting in the car for an extra five minutes by himself a legit vacation. He has mastered the 1 hour spring-break and is a 24 hour road trip Jedi.

One Response to “Creating Smiles”

  1. Karen Bahr July 24, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Ryan, love these things, you make me smile!Always have.

Leave a Reply

