Without Rain There Can Be No Rainbows

8 Sep
A teacher’s journey to a Maori village launched by the death of his beloved dog.

Without Rain Recently mention on Wired.com!

Available at Amazon and B&N

In Portland at Powell’s Books and Broadway Books

Multimedia Tablet Version coming soon.

Visit the book’s website to read the First Chapter

News/Press and Readings





8 Responses to “Without Rain There Can Be No Rainbows”

  1. Patrick January 14, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    In this time of hard turmoil all across the globe, a gentle voice speaks. No timid fare here, no. This is a story of adventure, faith and courage. Courage to see a hard thing through. Courage to take back up a call from passion’s past. Courage to share a man’s passage through loyalty, trial, loss, a re-birth of a dream. And the path back home from travels that have polished the youth into the salted and tried maturity of a man that faced his dream.
    So very much of Ryan’s memoir should have been my own. As I read, each step resonates with memories, should haves, and why didn’t “I”?
    Ryans manner of expression magnifies the little things so often ignored and shut away as we “get on” with what too often actually
    turns out to have been a life “un-lived” and in doing so he gained a life unforgetable.
    Treat yourself. Spend a few moments with him, and perhaps once again you will hear the call and realize you have the courage to answer after all.

  2. mark irwin January 16, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    HI,

    I read your post, Mom Is Right Again, (aren’t they always) but wasn’t able to leave a post. When I clicked the ‘post’ button it took me to your blog but not where I could say something. Anyways, I enjoyed reading it. Well done.

    Mark

  3. Maggie January 17, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    It has been said of other artists in the past, “In the presence of perfect beauty, the only answer is tears.” I must say that this applies to the description of your story and I certainly look forward to reading your memoir. As a retired teacher and one who has felt that deep and abiding connection to my animal friends, I feel your excitement, your love of children and your pain of loss.

  4. Regan January 19, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! :) I’ll have to stop by again and watch your video when I can use my speakers. (It’s 5am here and my hubby might not like that. ;))

  5. brian kulak January 27, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    Terrific video Ryan! Absolutely outstanding. I will snatch up a copy of this as soon as it hits the shelves.

  6. Rowenna January 27, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    First off–sounds like an amazing writing project and journey.

    Second off–that is an awesome suit and hat! I wish my grandma had left behind more clothes, but unfortunately all I found after she passed was what may be the world’s ugliest 1940s hat. I didn’t even know they made them ugly back then.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rain and Rainbows - February 14, 2010

    [...] [...]

  2. The Sad Man–Episode One and Two « The Chin Project - July 26, 2010

    [...] to Lori, three cats, a dog and a 100 year old house. And then there’s the ongoing work on my multimedia memoir (2011 Release Baby!). Somewhere in there I also managed to make a little money doing remodel jobs. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

